The History of Turning Point Records 


Turning Point Records (TPR) was established in 1985 by David Coate a few years after the David Coate Group (DCG) released their first record in 1981, “Time Keeps on Running” which was recorded and produced by Power Records. 

“State of the Heart” by DCG was the first LP to be released by Turning Point during the time period that DCG was touring nationwide.  “I Believe,” one of the singles from this record received significant national radio exposure and ultimately charted at #3 on WJTL FM 90.3, in Pennsylvania, one of the largest Christian Music radio markets in the U.S. and home of the Creation music festival.  During that time period DCG also performed at the Creation festival and other national music festivals with bands such as AD (Kerry Livgren, Kansas), Stryper, Mylon Lefevre, Michael W. Smith, Petra, and Phil Keaggy.


In the early 1990’s, TPR opened a multi-track recording facility in Quincy, Massachusetts and recorded several albums including David Coate’s “Still Small Voice” project with Mark Adamy, a successful keyboard player and producer.  Well known saxophonist Warren Hill also played on recordings at the studio during this time frame.



In 1998 TPR built another recording studio in Pembroke, Massachusetts and released another David Coate album “Evidence” in collaboration with producer/arranger Dedric Terry.  David covered Kansas’ “Dust in the Wind” for this project with excellent arrangements by Dedric Terry. 


Turning Point branched out into a number of different music markets in the early 2000 years.  Rock band “Plano East” recorded their debut album at TPR as well as the gospel band “Bullock Brothers.”  Michael Sweet (Boston, Stryper) recorded at TPR studios and major labels such as Warner Brothers, EMI, BMG entertainment, and Polygram contracted with TPR during this time frame.


Andy Samberg of Saturday Night Live recorded voiceovers for “Shark Week” for the Discovery Channel at TPR studios in 2011.


David Coate has continued to record several albums at the TPR studio including “Face to Face,” “All I Have Is Yours,” “A Million Ways,” and the “New Hymn Project.”  His newest release “This is Love,” will be released in the fall of 2013.